Executive Board call for nominations 2028-2031

ISSA Executive Board elections are held every 4 years. In accordance with the ISSA Bylaws, the next International Sociology of Sport Association elections will take place in 2027 to select a new Executive Board for the period 2028-2031.

Currently there are 6 elected Executive Board positions (President, General Secretary, and 4 Vice Presidents). The 6 people with the most votes in the election become the Executive Board and they decide among themselves who will hold which position.

Note: the Executive Board members can be from any country but there can only be 1 representative from any particular country (i.e., there cannot be two Executive Board members from the same country).

The election is managed by an independent Elections Officer, who will collate and verify all nominations, votes, and results, David Blackwell.

How to put yourself forward for election and how to vote for candidates:


Any member in good standing in when the call for nominations is issued is free to nominate a maximum of two (2) individuals to stand for election. Those nominated must also be members in good standing and they must confirm that: (a) they have been members of ISSA for at least 4 years; and (b) they have read, understood and are willing to accept the duties and responsibilities of the Executive Board portfolios. In order to be eligible for the ballot, nominees must receive at least two (2) nominations from at least two (2) different countries.

After nominations are received, the eligibility of all nominees will be verified.  A ballot of eligible nominees will then be prepared.


 Members may vote for six (6) nominees only and not more than one from the same country. Elections Officer will count the votes and report the election results to the Executive Board.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact the ISSA President.

Election of the 2024-2027 ISSA Executive Board

Elections for the 2024-2027 ISSA Executive Board were held in 2023. The Executive Board is comprised of 6 elected members who must represent 6 different countries. Currently, these positions are distributed as:

  • President
  • General Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Vice President (Conferences)
  • Vice President (Communications)
  • Vice President (International Relations)

Results of the election for a new ISSA Executive Board beginning in January 2024 were announced in 2023. The new Board is as follows:

  • Parissa Safai, President
  • Billy Graeff, General Secretary
  • Mark Falcous, Treasurer
  • Sun-Yong Kwon, VP Conferences
  • Emmanuelle Tulle, VP Communications
  • Hélène Joncheray, VP International Relations
  • Mike Sam, Past President